Monday, April 30, 2012

I'm Out of Titles

Just did 10 sets of 1:20 jogging, 3:00 walking at 3MPH.  That's 30 minutes walking and 13 minutes jogging.  I was so whipped by the end of it, but just kept going and I'm so glad I did!

I was going to run outside, but it's all wet, and knowing me I'd break my ankle.  So I stayed inside.

Good week

I lost 1.5 pounds this week and have been doing well with my exercise.  Today I'm going to take a stab at running outside.  I want to do the Parley P. Pratt 5K on the 4th of July, and to do that, I have to learn how to run for real.  Yipes.

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Jogging

Jogging on the treadmill is WAY easier than on the trail.  Today I did 10 intervals of a one minute jog, 3 minute walk.  I think next time I'm going to jog more, though.
  Yesterday we did 45 minutes of Zumba.  If latin dancing is supposed to look sexy or feminine in any way, I am totally not doing any latin dancing.  :)  I look like a dog being shocked with a shock collar.  :)

Friday, April 27, 2012

Updating

I'm doing pretty well.  I've done Zumba a couple more times, and gone on 3-5 mile walk/runs.  I have also been keeping track of my calories.  I've been slipping up more than I should, so I'm really going to button down now and eat better.  Especially eating more vegetables.

How about you guys?

Monday, April 23, 2012

Running/Zumba

I did 6 minutes of jogging (2 3 minute jogs), 25 minutes brisk walk, 20 minutes Zumba.  Why take a shower when you're already bathed...in sweat?  :)

Zumba is fun, but super hard.  I think the more I do it, the more I'll enjoy it.  It makes my experience watching Dancing with the Stars more interesting at least.  :)  I like dancing, but am not really able to do it well.  Hopefully this will help.  Now I'm going to go relax and eat some tapioca.  :)

Sunday, April 22, 2012

Two is the lovliest number...

  I've lost two pounds this week!  And this is the week I started counting calories.  And I worked out 5 days this week.  I don't think that's a coincidence.
  In the past when I've thought about trying to count calories, be on a diet, whatever, I would freak out.  I was always worried that I would be hungry, that it would take up too much time, that I wouldn't be able to keep track, etc.  I started doing it on www.livestrong.com and it was actually pretty easy!  It calculates the approximate number of calories you should be eating and you can even enter recipes and it'll figure out the nutrition facts.
  Trying to lose weight is like taking care of a plant.  I was basically saying, Hey, I know sunlight is good, so I'm going to give the plant lots of sunlight (exercise).  But I was also drowning the poor sucker (too much food, not the right foods).  Sometimes people don't water it enough, it starts to look wilty (you haven't eaten enough, you haven't taken care of your body) and so you end up overwatering it.  I don't know if this analogy makes sense to you, but I thought of it yesterday and thought it made a lot of sense.
  I've found that counting my calories actually made me feel better.  I was able to eat ice cream without feeling guilty, because I knew that I could without going over my calories for the day. It's really educational because you start to see what is good for your body and eating those things more.  Also,  I don't snack NEARLY as much, because I'm more accountable and actually conscious of what I'm eating.
  I'm not trying to be preachy (I'll be honest, this is kind of for a personal progress value experience- lol) but it has really helped me a lot and I hope it can help you guys too.
  Anyway.  I also bought new running shoes that will help stabilize my foot so I don't roll my ankle.  Plus they're kind of cute.

AND for something funny.  I think I mentioned that we got those Zumba dvds from the library.  We just popped in one and tried it last night.  Apparently we popped in the advanced one.  You know me, I'm not super coordinated and Mike is....let's just say his dancing skills aren't awesome.  LOL  I couldn't stop laughing - at myself, at Mike and his robot moves (accidental), at the weird commentary, etc.  My favorite quote of the night was Mike saying, "I'm the straightest guy doing this right now."

Blast From the Past


This is something I wrote on January 19th of this year.  I wasn't having a good day...at all.  I figured we've all had days like this, so I thought I'd share that even though I'm really enjoying my exercising, counting calories, etc. that it hasn't been easy.


I understand that weight fluctuates, and that it’s normal when you are dieting and exercising to gain some weight and then lose it during the process.  Today is the second day in a row that I’ve been up +.3.  Today I feel like I’m just kidding myself.  I imagine myself in the future and try to see a thin, healthy, happy girl and then I have days like today and I feel like it’s all a pipe dream.  I’ve always been fat.  I will always be fat.  Why do I try to convince myself otherwise.  Mike has been losing weight every day.  He looks great, feels great, and is super motivated.  I’m happy for him, but I feel panicky that since I am apparently unable to lose an ounce, he will be thin and I will be his fat wife.  I don’t want that.
  If I had spent the last week pigging out and laying around sleeping, I could see how I could see NO results whatsoever.  But I haven’t!  I’ve been logging all my food.  I’ve been running around with my kids trying to keep my house in order (which I am also failing at).  I wasn’t able to exercise as much as I wanted because of having migraines, meetings, etc, but last night I walked/ran 2.6 miles.  And today I’m fatter than yesterday.  I’m sad, I’m angry, I’m frustrated, I’m discouraged, and I’m beaten.  I won’t stop doing what I’m doing, but a large part of me wonders if it’s even worth it.  Today I am going to stop imagining what my body could look like, and pray that I can just stop gaining weight.  

Saturday, April 21, 2012

Took yesterday off

  Yesterday we took Andrew to Flipz, a local gymnastics place that's open for little kids on Friday mornings.  He loves it, and at one point he grabbed my hand and started to run across the gym and up the stairs with me.  Typically, this results in me getting winded, or doing one of those half run/half jog/half fake-out jogs, ending in me saying, "Go on ahead, bud!" and walking quickly behind him.  Before I knew it yesterday, though, we were up the stairs and I was breathing slightly heavier, but not bad at all!  Yay!  One of my biggest motivations is trying to keep up with these two busy bees, and I feel like I'm starting to do that just a little bit.
  That being said, Mike and I did go out to eat yesterday on a date and I ate half my pad thai (if you haven't had it, it's pretty incredible!) and then....the other half a couple hours later at home.  It's just soooooooooo good.
  Today we're going to a park and taking a walk and then tonight I'm going to try Zumba (I picked up some DVDs at the library).  I'll let you know how it went.
  ALSO, for lunch I had fresh mozzarella, tomato, and spinach with salt and pepper on some baguette, grilled on the stove and it was INCREDIBLE.  So, Amy.  You're the only one who might try that.  Give it a go.  :)

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Today

8 calories under goal, 5 minute ab workout, 10 minute leg workout, 10 minute arm workout

:)

Everything but my forearms.

Tuesday I did a 5 minute ab workout, a 10 minute leg workout, and a 10 minute arm workout.  Yesterday I walked/jogged 5.4 miles.  Today literally every part of my body except my forearms hurts. 

I have also been good at tracking my calories.  I use livestrong.com.  It looks confusing, but it's not because you only need a couple of the tags.  It even adjusts what your caloric intake should be depending on what exercise you've done that day.  I'm grateful for that, because I was able to eat 2 servings (1 cup) of ice cream yesterday and was still 100 calories under what I was alloted.  Yippee!!  Especially because I finally found that Breyers Grasshopper Pie ice cream.  Oh, I'm in heaven.....

Uhh.....I mean, I love exercise.

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Nubby knees

Yesterday we went on a walk on the trail for 5.82 miles.  As Mike put it, "my knees felt like they'd been worn to nubs."  Then we went grocery shopping.  I was so worn out last night. 
I bought more exercise pants last night and was able to buy 16/18 instead of 18/20.  YIPPEE!!!
I've been really REALLY trying to eat healthier.  I know I'm lucky because I like vegetables and stuff, but it's still pretty hard for me.  I'm starting today to track my calories so I can tell what I'm really eating.  It'll take a lot of time and will be a big adjustment, but I've been praying a lot for inspiration and help and I think this will be super helpful.
Today I will probably work with weights and do ab/arm/leg/glute workouts.  This is a gross question, but does anyone else have excess skin?  It's not excessive, but...anyway.  I've read that if you use exfoliating body wash and use MSM lotion and tablets, it helps.  I'm doing that too.
TMI?

Monday, April 16, 2012

Jeanette broke her vow.....shocker.

Don't worry about talking too much on here Karen. I think we all like hearing what you are doing because we are all so proud (and yes jealous) :) of you. You are doing great.

I went on a mile walk yesterday.......today I'll do something else. Yes, I will.

Sunday, April 15, 2012

My own personal fitness blog

It feels like I'm talking wayyyyy too much on this blog.  What have you guys been up to fitness-wise?

I tried my hand at a few exercises on Saturday focusing on my legs, arms, and glutes.  My legs are holding out pretty well, since they're pretty used to me using them (walking, running).  My...ahem....glutes are feeling the burn a bit but not terribly.  My arms and back are like, "Hey.  What did we do to you?!"

I was able to wear a skirt today that I'd avoided wearing in the past because it showed off my tummy.  And that's a showcase no one wants to see.

Friday, April 13, 2012

Miles of Pies

Whew, I've put a lot of miles on these here feet this week.  Wednesday we went 5.82 miles and yesterday I did 2 miles as well as some work with our 8 lb. medicine ball.  My dogs have been barking.  Howling.  My poor tootsies.
  I've been waiting (drooling, dreaming) for Breyers Blast Grasshopper ice cream since they stopped carrying it last year.  It's a seasonal thing, so it's been on my mind.  When we were in St. Louis, I saw it.  I gasped.  I drooled.  But I didn't buy it since we weren't going to be able to store it in a freezer and (for some reason) it seemed wrong to scarf down the whole thing in one sitting.  Anyway.  Salem didn't have it.  Columbia doesn't have it.  I went to another store in search of it on Wednesday night and when they didn't have it, I grabbed a little box of 2 peices of Butterfinger pie for me and Mike.  I thought, it's small so that's good.  I got home and looked at the nutritional facts.  387 calories for one piece of pie!!!!!!!!!  I was so bummed, but still determined to eat that delicious peice of fatty, sugary goodness.  After all, I had walked almost 6 miles that day and had been pretty careful about what I ate all day (and week.)  I offered one to Mike, who hesitated after looking to see how many calories it had.  He said he didn't think he'd have one, but if I wanted maybe he'd split one with me or something.  Then it hit me.  387 calories?!  That's a lot.  And if I want to lose weight, I have to make sacrifices.  I can't expect to shed pounds by eating whatever I want, whenever I want.  I am working too hard to exercise and watch what I eat to go crazy all the time.  Sometimes is okay, and I totally am going to splurge sometimes, but right now I'm trying to train my body to be healthy.  So I threw it away. 
  And then I sat down and sobbed. 
  I cried because I wanted to eat that pie so much.  I cried because I wasn't going to.  I cried because of all the wasted years.  I cried because food has always been such a fun, comforting, easy thing.  I cried because of how much I want to be fit.  I cried because of all the people who called me fat.  I cried because I was the worst of them all.
  I have somehow convinced myself that that's what I am.  I am Karen, and I am heavy.  I don't like to run, I don't like to work out, I don't like to sweat.  But guess what?  That's not me.  I am Karen.  There's a healthy person in there who will be much happier when I can buy the size I want.  When I can run with my kids.  When I can feel comfortable in a group.
  So I'm proud of myself.  But a part of me still wants that pie.  :)

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

The Weekend

We were out of town for the weekend, but I was proud of myself.  We were in a hotel on Thursday night and Friday morning I got my bum out of the room and down to the fitness room and did a 1 1/2 mile brisk walk.  Thursday we went to the zoo and saw on the pedometer that we went around 2.75 miles.  So although we didn't quite eat healthfully, I did eat better than you'd think and did a lot more exercise than you'd think for a weekend away from home with amazing food all around me.
  Yesterday Mike got home early so we loaded the kids up and did a 5 mile walk.  I was pretty beat by the end of it, but just glad I could do it.  I haven't lost the weight I want to yet, but I'm definitely getting stronger. 

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Here goes...

 Okay, people, you have worn me down with all your exercise talk. No, wait... you wore me out with all your exercise talk... but I'm in regardless. I started tracking what I eat again today. That went well last time, so I'm crossing my fingers. There's a good calorie tracker at sparkpeople.com if any of you wanted to try that out.
 I'm trying to figure out what kind of fitness stuff I want to do/ can do with twin toddlers in tow. I'm actually considering working toward running, but that's a tough one time-wise.
 So we're supposed to share before pictures, eh? Alright, here's mine...






















Just kidding, of course. I never curl my hair and wear nail polish.

16 minutes jogging

Total of 16 minutes jogging, 20 minutes walking.  Sweating.  Like a pig.  Sore.  Soooooo sore.  So proud of myself.

And I have to do it again tomorrow.  Sobbing.  :)

Monday, April 2, 2012

Me Lately

Hi everybody.  Things are going pretty well, exercise-wise.  On Friday, I did the 3 min jog thingie again and it was not as good as last time, but it was do-able.  I had to hop off for a couple seconds a couple times, but I'm proud of what I can do.  Today I'm supposed to do 5 minutes at a time, so I'm praying I can do better today.
  Yesterday we went on two walks for a total of 2.8 miles.  It was definitely nice to get out and move.  I'm finding that the more I exercise, the more I need it, and enjoy it.  I would never have thought before that I would WANT to get off my rear and move. 

Sunday, April 1, 2012

Jeanette makes the unbreakable (well maybe we wont go that far) vow.....

I won't lie. I have not been doing well with this exercise/eating healthier bit. BUT, for the hundreth time I now vow once again to start working out. I am hoping to look and feel a whole lot better by the holidays. Laura - good to see you on here. I hope the first week goes fast for you. I am impressed by your dedication with this diet. I know it's hard.....obviously because I don't do it. :) I didn't know you could sign in to a single blog with different accounts. Good thing Amy is with it. :)

Be an author

Amy set this up to invite us all to be authors.  Don't want Jeanette to get the credit for all our hard work!!

Laura - First Blog Post Ever!

First day of April, first day of the week - I am now officially on my diet again. I SOOO want to cheat. I came over to Amy's house for conference. At lunch, Mike made big, thick chocolate chip waffles. I ate my breadless sandwich wraps. Did I mention that I soooooo want to cheat? But I know that cheating is just cheating myself. My goal is to be in a more comfortable place by my birthday. I have to renew my license on that day. I'd like to be happier with it than the one I got almost 8 years ago.
I also know that in a week or two I will no longer feel hungry all the time. Part of it is mental and part of it is just needing to purge my body of sugar....mmmmm, sugar!
No exercise today - it is Sunday- but that is soon to come. I will try to keep posting.

Amy is currently on her exercise bike. Her legs aren't moving but her hands are flying over her iphone.