Okay, so how long since I started my WoW diet? Four weeks, maybe? Long enough to come up with some conclusions. So here it is.
After my initial two-week trial, I have continued to eat fruits, veggies, whole grains, beans, etc. for about 95% of what I eat. I've had a few small desserts and some meat maybe once a week. So far the cravings for other stuff isn't really bad, partly because I want this so much, and partly because the stuff I'm eating is so good.
Up until this week, when I got croup and have been on my deathbed... I have felt really, really great. Much more energy, no brain fog, no nausea, no flopping on my couch mid-day feeling like I'll die if I don't nap.
As far as weight goes, I had already lost 10 pounds this summer before the new diet, and 15 since. That's 25. And do you know what 25 is, people?! It's a quarter of the way to my goal.
Woohoo!!
Tuesday, August 14, 2012
Sunday, August 12, 2012
Friday, July 20, 2012
Walking
I have done the treadmill twice so far this week. Not fantastic, but better than before. I also have lost some more weight. According to my weight this morning (which flucuates day to day), I have lost 27 pounds so far. Yahoo.
5 days in a row
Okay so yesterday I walked on the treadmill but only did it for 20 minutes because my legs wouldn't quit burning. I did do the 6 minute Shake Weight DVD after though.
Today I wasn't going to walk. I just didn't. Then when Jason got home from work he said it was fairly nice out and wanted to go on a walk after dinner. So we did. I am not sure how long we walked. Maybe 2 miles......but thanks to Jason - this makes 5 days in a row that I have walked.
I have been eating some unhealthy things so I'm not doing totally great but I would have eaten them anyway so at least I got some exercise right?
Today I wasn't going to walk. I just didn't. Then when Jason got home from work he said it was fairly nice out and wanted to go on a walk after dinner. So we did. I am not sure how long we walked. Maybe 2 miles......but thanks to Jason - this makes 5 days in a row that I have walked.
I have been eating some unhealthy things so I'm not doing totally great but I would have eaten them anyway so at least I got some exercise right?
Wednesday, July 18, 2012
The last 3 days
Okay so I haven't been eating overly healthy BUT I have done the treadmill the last 3 days in a row. That's something. The first day 35 minutes and then 30 minutes the last 2 days.
Monday, July 16, 2012
Successes
My successes of the week:
1. Getting on the treadmill for 30 minutes even though I really wasn't feeling well. This is nothing new, so I decided that if I really do want to be healthy I need to just freaking do it.
2. Eating a small (small) bowl of ice cream last night even though it was there ALL day.
3. Eating a salad last night. (even though it didn't sound good)
4. Weighing slightly less than Michael one day last week. That hasn't happened for months, ever since he decided to get super skinny on me. Jerk. ;)
This week will be better than last week. I'll let you know.
1. Getting on the treadmill for 30 minutes even though I really wasn't feeling well. This is nothing new, so I decided that if I really do want to be healthy I need to just freaking do it.
2. Eating a small (small) bowl of ice cream last night even though it was there ALL day.
3. Eating a salad last night. (even though it didn't sound good)
4. Weighing slightly less than Michael one day last week. That hasn't happened for months, ever since he decided to get super skinny on me. Jerk. ;)
This week will be better than last week. I'll let you know.
WoW!
Sooo... Yesterday I taught the youth Sunday School class and got a refresher course on the Word of Wisdom. Answering the questions of thirteen-year-olds has a way of making things really clear. We talked about "conspiring men" and how there really is a conspiracy to destroy us. Guess who the ringleader is, trying to convince us that it doesn't matter what we do with our bodies? Ugh. I've totally been buying into it.
I've been watching some documentaries about the science of nutrition, with some real people getting serious results by switching to fruits, veggies, and whole grains. Guess what? Turns out the Lord totally knew what he was talking about with that whole Word of Wisdom thing!
So, um, I'm going to do it. With you all as my witnesses. For the next two weeks, I'm completely swearing off anything but plants. No meat, no dairy, no sugar(!), no processed anything. After that, we'll see. Eventually I'm sure I'll add in a small amount of meat (definitely eggs). Not sure how much dairy, if any. And very limited sugar.
Time to trust the Lord's promises.
Thursday, July 12, 2012
4th of July
On the 4th of July, we went to a run/walk. We only ended up doing the mile rather than the 4 mile, but the point was we actually got out and did a physical activity...on purpose. It was a good example for the kids, especially Andrew, who was super excited to run the "big race." He ended up running/walking almost the whole thing, although he was really tired of it by the end of it.
Tuesday, July 10, 2012
24 lbs
I'm down 24 lbs from my original weight. Ummmm, wahoo! And once I stop feeling so darn sick all the time, I'm going to hit the treadmill again.
Thursday, July 5, 2012
Flat Belly here I come...
This morning I did the Flat Belly Workout (just the first program) and I did the Shake weight too. It's sad how tiring that stuff is and how much you sweat. Yuck but I feel so much better for having done it.
Now if I can just have the motivation to keep it up. I hate that my clothes don't fit. I hate that I don't take many pictures with my family. I hate that when someone pulls out a camera I dread it and when I see the picture feeling bad about myself.
It's time for a change.....that reminds me of the song Lennie sang on Ghostwriter. :)
Now if I can just have the motivation to keep it up. I hate that my clothes don't fit. I hate that I don't take many pictures with my family. I hate that when someone pulls out a camera I dread it and when I see the picture feeling bad about myself.
It's time for a change.....that reminds me of the song Lennie sang on Ghostwriter. :)
Sunday, July 1, 2012
My Driver's License is a Liar
So far I have lost 22 pounds! I lost 3 pounds this week, regardless of the entire bag of Flaming Hot Cheetos, nachos, and other stuff I have shoved in my face. Other than those things, I have been really watching what I eat. :)
So my drivers' license says I'm 2 pounds heavier than I am. I like that it lies. I like it a lot.
So my drivers' license says I'm 2 pounds heavier than I am. I like that it lies. I like it a lot.
Sunday, June 24, 2012
Camp differences...
2012 Girl's Camp
2007 Girl's Camp - 50 lbs heavier.
2007-2008 was when I was at my all-time high weight. And I seriously looked like the Pillsbury Dough Boy. I still have 30 more pounds to get down to my mission weight, another 30 to get down to what I used to think my ideal weight would be and another 20 or so pounds to be at what I think my ideal weight will be now. That's another 80 pounds. That's a lot of work, but the difference in these pictures really shows me what a difference every pound makes.
I've been really bad the last 2 weeks. Birthday parties, family visiting, and being busy with camp and stuff has made me exercise maybe twice....the whole 2 weeks. That's bad. And I haven't been tracking my calories. Incredibly enough, I haven't gained anything, but I'm sure my muscles are losing their strength a bit. Anyway, I'm going to definitely get back on track tomorrow. Tracking calories, running on the treadmill, and just generally being healthier.
I really liked all the good, not-so-good for me foods these last 2 weeks, but I feel sick, I don't feel happier, and I'm ready to start losing weight again.
Wish me luck. :)
Friday, June 15, 2012
Today
Today, I did 1.5 miles on the treadmill. I walked a total of .5 miles and ran 1 mile. Yippee. Now I stink.
Monday, June 11, 2012
Homer said it...not me.
So I feel wierd blogging on here because I have been so bad about exercising but I actually did something today and it's not even 10:30. :) It seems pitiful compared to what (I just started spelling what -waht and then when I went to fix it I spelled it whate......anyway) Karen does. You are definatly so much better at all of this then I am but a starts a start. I really have to exercise almost everyday. So this morning I did Taebo. Or should I say most of Taebo. I didn't do the double time kicks (never do) and I stopped a few times but overall I did most of it and I am sweaty.
Since it is hot I was wearing my stretchy pants and a sports bra. So the pants kept slipping down and the bra kept riding up off my stomach. Half way through I caught a glimpse of myself in the tv........in case you didn't know seeing your stomach rolls bounce around is not exactly thrilling.
It reminds me of a quote from the Simpsons....Homer - "Look at that blubber fly!" Someday.....that blubber will be blubbering....because it will be gone. :) I know...that was lame. :)
Since it is hot I was wearing my stretchy pants and a sports bra. So the pants kept slipping down and the bra kept riding up off my stomach. Half way through I caught a glimpse of myself in the tv........in case you didn't know seeing your stomach rolls bounce around is not exactly thrilling.
It reminds me of a quote from the Simpsons....Homer - "Look at that blubber fly!" Someday.....that blubber will be blubbering....because it will be gone. :) I know...that was lame. :)
Sunday, June 10, 2012
1.54
I lost 1.54 pounds this week, and have felt pretty good. I wish it were 15.4 pounds but that's not feasible. :)
I walked on the treadmill a couple of days, ran yesterday, and tracked my calories and was good about what I ate.
I walked on the treadmill a couple of days, ran yesterday, and tracked my calories and was good about what I ate.
Sunday, June 3, 2012
This Week
I lost 2.42 pounds this week!!! We had pizza twice this week, plus cake and ice cream of course. It wasn't a banner week for fitness, but not horrible either. I got some Dancing With the Stars cardio dvds from the library and am going to try those out this week, as well as more walking and running. I really need to get the jogging stroller out and run with the kids around the neighborhood. I'm just feeling lazy about that. I was looking in the mirror today and thinking how fun it will be to be skinny. I've never been, and it will be interesting to see what my body and face will look like. It's weird that there's a fit person in there, trying to get out. It's really hard to stay focused sometimes, and I definitely slip up sometimes, but I'm so grateful I started this whole weight-loss journey, because it has really made me happier and has gotten me more focused on other parts of my life.
Wednesday, May 30, 2012
2.05
Today I went 2.05 miles on the treadmill and ran 1.1 of it! Not all at once, but over the course of the time. That's the most I've ever ran. Yay me.
Tuesday, May 29, 2012
Distance Goal
Mike starts the bar classes today, so yesterday was our last hurrah, as it were. We went on the trail and biked longer than we ever have. 10.2 miles! I was so tired afterwards that I napped when the kids did (at the same time! It was a miracle.) That night I did Zumba also.
Today, I am really really tired and kind of sore. BUT I lost weight, so that's awesome.
Today, I am really really tired and kind of sore. BUT I lost weight, so that's awesome.
Sunday, May 27, 2012
This Week
This week I went on a 4 mile walk/jog, a 5 mile walk, did Zumba, did an 8 mile bike ride, did some strength resistance with bands, and tracked my calories every day. I also stayed away from sugar for the week.
I lost a pound, and I worked it off. Even though my body aches and I'm really tired, it is totally worth it.
I've really found that having a balanced diet while watching your calories is what gets you to lose weight. The exercise is important, of course, but without watching what you eat, there is no way you can really lose it. Also, when you eat right, you want to work out more. It gives you motivation to make your whole life healthier.
I'm so grateful that I've started doing this. I'm happier, I feel much better, and other things in my life are falling into place. I know it's hard to begin, but I started slowly. I rented walking videos from the library, then did a harder walking video, and then borrowed one from Amy. I like doing this blog, because it motivates me as I know I have to be accountable.
I lost a pound, and I worked it off. Even though my body aches and I'm really tired, it is totally worth it.
I've really found that having a balanced diet while watching your calories is what gets you to lose weight. The exercise is important, of course, but without watching what you eat, there is no way you can really lose it. Also, when you eat right, you want to work out more. It gives you motivation to make your whole life healthier.
I'm so grateful that I've started doing this. I'm happier, I feel much better, and other things in my life are falling into place. I know it's hard to begin, but I started slowly. I rented walking videos from the library, then did a harder walking video, and then borrowed one from Amy. I like doing this blog, because it motivates me as I know I have to be accountable.
Wednesday, May 23, 2012
What Works/What Doesn't
We were in Salem last week. I did way better than I have in the past. I made it to the track a couple of times to walk and run, did a few exercises at the house, etc. I didn't eat as many treats as I usually would, but I didn't track my calories, didn't eat healthily, ate several helpings of the food if it was good, etc. And I spent the whole week feeling really sick to my stomach. Since I haven't been eating as much, my stomach just can't handle that much food. And it was just...blech. Don't get me wrong, it was a really a fun week, and the food was amazing. But it's not what I want to do all the time. Especially since I gained 1.30 pounds in a week. Since I didn't lose any weight the week before, I'm over 5 pounds behind my goal. I want to be at my mission weight by Sept 1st. That's just 2 pounds a week. I may not be able to reach the exact number, but I can get pretty darn close.
I've already lost .66 in 2 days by eating well, recording my calories in www.livestrong.com, and exercising. We did a 5 mile walk on Monday, a 1 mile walk yesterday, and I ran on both days also. I'm just tired of being heavy. I've always hated it, and now I hate it enough to do something about it.
I've already lost .66 in 2 days by eating well, recording my calories in www.livestrong.com, and exercising. We did a 5 mile walk on Monday, a 1 mile walk yesterday, and I ran on both days also. I'm just tired of being heavy. I've always hated it, and now I hate it enough to do something about it.
Saturday, May 12, 2012
Good/Bad News
Michael and I went to the free health screening at Sam's Club this morning. Mike's cholesterol (which was dangerously high a couple years ago) is now within normal range, so I can stop constantly freaking out about that. :)
My glucose levels, blood pressure, and cholesterol all looked really good. My BMI? Not so awesome. A whopping 38%. Wow....what an eye opener. I'm so glad I'm working on it. I used to be 46 pounds heavier than I am now. I don't even want to know how much more it would have been back then (2008-2009ish).
I have had to really fight an inner battle this weekend because tomorrow's Mike's graduation and some of his family is coming into town. My first thought is (as usual), What fun food are we going to have? I'm having some good stuff (hummus and veggies and pita chips, cheese and crackers, and middle eastern chopped salad) that is pretty healthy and really delicious. I haven't bought a cake. I want to sooo much. Part of me feels like I'm doing something wrong by not getting one. It's ridiculous, I know. But he doesn't want one, we don't need the added temptation, and I don't want it. It's a weird feeling, but it's good.
My glucose levels, blood pressure, and cholesterol all looked really good. My BMI? Not so awesome. A whopping 38%. Wow....what an eye opener. I'm so glad I'm working on it. I used to be 46 pounds heavier than I am now. I don't even want to know how much more it would have been back then (2008-2009ish).
I have had to really fight an inner battle this weekend because tomorrow's Mike's graduation and some of his family is coming into town. My first thought is (as usual), What fun food are we going to have? I'm having some good stuff (hummus and veggies and pita chips, cheese and crackers, and middle eastern chopped salad) that is pretty healthy and really delicious. I haven't bought a cake. I want to sooo much. Part of me feels like I'm doing something wrong by not getting one. It's ridiculous, I know. But he doesn't want one, we don't need the added temptation, and I don't want it. It's a weird feeling, but it's good.
Monday, May 7, 2012
14.5
I weigh a tiny bit (.5 lb) more than yesterday, but we'll just count yesterday as the weigh-in day. Another 2 pounds lost!!! That's 14.5 total. I still have a LONG LOOOOOOOONG way to go, but I've started and it feels awesome. It's amazing how much more energy and confidence I have, just having lost this little bit (relatively.) I have friends who are working really hard to lose the last 5 pounds or something. I'm only slightly (extremely) jealous.
Monday, April 30, 2012
I'm Out of Titles
Just did 10 sets of 1:20 jogging, 3:00 walking at 3MPH. That's 30 minutes walking and 13 minutes jogging. I was so whipped by the end of it, but just kept going and I'm so glad I did!
I was going to run outside, but it's all wet, and knowing me I'd break my ankle. So I stayed inside.
I was going to run outside, but it's all wet, and knowing me I'd break my ankle. So I stayed inside.
Good week
I lost 1.5 pounds this week and have been doing well with my exercise. Today I'm going to take a stab at running outside. I want to do the Parley P. Pratt 5K on the 4th of July, and to do that, I have to learn how to run for real. Yipes.
Saturday, April 28, 2012
Jogging
Jogging on the treadmill is WAY easier than on the trail. Today I did 10 intervals of a one minute jog, 3 minute walk. I think next time I'm going to jog more, though.
Yesterday we did 45 minutes of Zumba. If latin dancing is supposed to look sexy or feminine in any way, I am totally not doing any latin dancing. :) I look like a dog being shocked with a shock collar. :)
Yesterday we did 45 minutes of Zumba. If latin dancing is supposed to look sexy or feminine in any way, I am totally not doing any latin dancing. :) I look like a dog being shocked with a shock collar. :)
Friday, April 27, 2012
Updating
I'm doing pretty well. I've done Zumba a couple more times, and gone on 3-5 mile walk/runs. I have also been keeping track of my calories. I've been slipping up more than I should, so I'm really going to button down now and eat better. Especially eating more vegetables.
How about you guys?
How about you guys?
Monday, April 23, 2012
Running/Zumba
I did 6 minutes of jogging (2 3 minute jogs), 25 minutes brisk walk, 20 minutes Zumba. Why take a shower when you're already bathed...in sweat? :)
Zumba is fun, but super hard. I think the more I do it, the more I'll enjoy it. It makes my experience watching Dancing with the Stars more interesting at least. :) I like dancing, but am not really able to do it well. Hopefully this will help. Now I'm going to go relax and eat some tapioca. :)
Zumba is fun, but super hard. I think the more I do it, the more I'll enjoy it. It makes my experience watching Dancing with the Stars more interesting at least. :) I like dancing, but am not really able to do it well. Hopefully this will help. Now I'm going to go relax and eat some tapioca. :)
Sunday, April 22, 2012
Two is the lovliest number...
I've lost two pounds this week! And this is the week I started counting calories. And I worked out 5 days this week. I don't think that's a coincidence.
In the past when I've thought about trying to count calories, be on a diet, whatever, I would freak out. I was always worried that I would be hungry, that it would take up too much time, that I wouldn't be able to keep track, etc. I started doing it on www.livestrong.com and it was actually pretty easy! It calculates the approximate number of calories you should be eating and you can even enter recipes and it'll figure out the nutrition facts.
Trying to lose weight is like taking care of a plant. I was basically saying, Hey, I know sunlight is good, so I'm going to give the plant lots of sunlight (exercise). But I was also drowning the poor sucker (too much food, not the right foods). Sometimes people don't water it enough, it starts to look wilty (you haven't eaten enough, you haven't taken care of your body) and so you end up overwatering it. I don't know if this analogy makes sense to you, but I thought of it yesterday and thought it made a lot of sense.
I've found that counting my calories actually made me feel better. I was able to eat ice cream without feeling guilty, because I knew that I could without going over my calories for the day. It's really educational because you start to see what is good for your body and eating those things more. Also, I don't snack NEARLY as much, because I'm more accountable and actually conscious of what I'm eating.
I'm not trying to be preachy (I'll be honest, this is kind of for a personal progress value experience- lol) but it has really helped me a lot and I hope it can help you guys too.
Anyway. I also bought new running shoes that will help stabilize my foot so I don't roll my ankle. Plus they're kind of cute.
AND for something funny. I think I mentioned that we got those Zumba dvds from the library. We just popped in one and tried it last night. Apparently we popped in the advanced one. You know me, I'm not super coordinated and Mike is....let's just say his dancing skills aren't awesome. LOL I couldn't stop laughing - at myself, at Mike and his robot moves (accidental), at the weird commentary, etc. My favorite quote of the night was Mike saying, "I'm the straightest guy doing this right now."
In the past when I've thought about trying to count calories, be on a diet, whatever, I would freak out. I was always worried that I would be hungry, that it would take up too much time, that I wouldn't be able to keep track, etc. I started doing it on www.livestrong.com and it was actually pretty easy! It calculates the approximate number of calories you should be eating and you can even enter recipes and it'll figure out the nutrition facts.
Trying to lose weight is like taking care of a plant. I was basically saying, Hey, I know sunlight is good, so I'm going to give the plant lots of sunlight (exercise). But I was also drowning the poor sucker (too much food, not the right foods). Sometimes people don't water it enough, it starts to look wilty (you haven't eaten enough, you haven't taken care of your body) and so you end up overwatering it. I don't know if this analogy makes sense to you, but I thought of it yesterday and thought it made a lot of sense.
I've found that counting my calories actually made me feel better. I was able to eat ice cream without feeling guilty, because I knew that I could without going over my calories for the day. It's really educational because you start to see what is good for your body and eating those things more. Also, I don't snack NEARLY as much, because I'm more accountable and actually conscious of what I'm eating.
I'm not trying to be preachy (I'll be honest, this is kind of for a personal progress value experience- lol) but it has really helped me a lot and I hope it can help you guys too.
Anyway. I also bought new running shoes that will help stabilize my foot so I don't roll my ankle. Plus they're kind of cute.
AND for something funny. I think I mentioned that we got those Zumba dvds from the library. We just popped in one and tried it last night. Apparently we popped in the advanced one. You know me, I'm not super coordinated and Mike is....let's just say his dancing skills aren't awesome. LOL I couldn't stop laughing - at myself, at Mike and his robot moves (accidental), at the weird commentary, etc. My favorite quote of the night was Mike saying, "I'm the straightest guy doing this right now."
Blast From the Past
This is something I wrote on January 19th of this year. I wasn't having a good day...at all. I figured we've all had days like this, so I thought I'd share that even though I'm really enjoying my exercising, counting calories, etc. that it hasn't been easy.
I understand that weight fluctuates, and that it’s normal
when you are dieting and exercising to gain some weight and then lose it during
the process. Today is the second day in
a row that I’ve been up +.3. Today I
feel like I’m just kidding myself. I imagine
myself in the future and try to see a thin, healthy, happy girl and then I have
days like today and I feel like it’s all a pipe dream. I’ve always been fat. I will always be fat. Why do I try to convince myself
otherwise. Mike has been losing weight
every day. He looks great, feels great,
and is super motivated. I’m happy for
him, but I feel panicky that since I am apparently unable to lose an ounce, he
will be thin and I will be his fat wife.
I don’t want that.
If I had spent the
last week pigging out and laying around sleeping, I could see how I could see
NO results whatsoever. But I
haven’t! I’ve been logging all my
food. I’ve been running around with my
kids trying to keep my house in order (which I am also failing at). I wasn’t able to exercise as much as I wanted
because of having migraines, meetings, etc, but last night I walked/ran 2.6
miles. And today I’m fatter than
yesterday. I’m sad, I’m angry, I’m
frustrated, I’m discouraged, and I’m beaten.
I won’t stop doing what I’m doing, but a large part of me wonders if
it’s even worth it. Today I am going to
stop imagining what my body could look like, and pray that I can just stop
gaining weight.
Saturday, April 21, 2012
Took yesterday off
Yesterday we took Andrew to Flipz, a local gymnastics place that's open for little kids on Friday mornings. He loves it, and at one point he grabbed my hand and started to run across the gym and up the stairs with me. Typically, this results in me getting winded, or doing one of those half run/half jog/half fake-out jogs, ending in me saying, "Go on ahead, bud!" and walking quickly behind him. Before I knew it yesterday, though, we were up the stairs and I was breathing slightly heavier, but not bad at all! Yay! One of my biggest motivations is trying to keep up with these two busy bees, and I feel like I'm starting to do that just a little bit.
That being said, Mike and I did go out to eat yesterday on a date and I ate half my pad thai (if you haven't had it, it's pretty incredible!) and then....the other half a couple hours later at home. It's just soooooooooo good.
Today we're going to a park and taking a walk and then tonight I'm going to try Zumba (I picked up some DVDs at the library). I'll let you know how it went.
ALSO, for lunch I had fresh mozzarella, tomato, and spinach with salt and pepper on some baguette, grilled on the stove and it was INCREDIBLE. So, Amy. You're the only one who might try that. Give it a go. :)
That being said, Mike and I did go out to eat yesterday on a date and I ate half my pad thai (if you haven't had it, it's pretty incredible!) and then....the other half a couple hours later at home. It's just soooooooooo good.
Today we're going to a park and taking a walk and then tonight I'm going to try Zumba (I picked up some DVDs at the library). I'll let you know how it went.
ALSO, for lunch I had fresh mozzarella, tomato, and spinach with salt and pepper on some baguette, grilled on the stove and it was INCREDIBLE. So, Amy. You're the only one who might try that. Give it a go. :)
Thursday, April 19, 2012
Everything but my forearms.
Tuesday I did a 5 minute ab workout, a 10 minute leg workout, and a 10 minute arm workout. Yesterday I walked/jogged 5.4 miles. Today literally every part of my body except my forearms hurts.
I have also been good at tracking my calories. I use livestrong.com. It looks confusing, but it's not because you only need a couple of the tags. It even adjusts what your caloric intake should be depending on what exercise you've done that day. I'm grateful for that, because I was able to eat 2 servings (1 cup) of ice cream yesterday and was still 100 calories under what I was alloted. Yippee!! Especially because I finally found that Breyers Grasshopper Pie ice cream. Oh, I'm in heaven.....
Uhh.....I mean, I love exercise.
I have also been good at tracking my calories. I use livestrong.com. It looks confusing, but it's not because you only need a couple of the tags. It even adjusts what your caloric intake should be depending on what exercise you've done that day. I'm grateful for that, because I was able to eat 2 servings (1 cup) of ice cream yesterday and was still 100 calories under what I was alloted. Yippee!! Especially because I finally found that Breyers Grasshopper Pie ice cream. Oh, I'm in heaven.....
Uhh.....I mean, I love exercise.
Tuesday, April 17, 2012
Nubby knees
Yesterday we went on a walk on the trail for 5.82 miles. As Mike put it, "my knees felt like they'd been worn to nubs." Then we went grocery shopping. I was so worn out last night.
I bought more exercise pants last night and was able to buy 16/18 instead of 18/20. YIPPEE!!!
I've been really REALLY trying to eat healthier. I know I'm lucky because I like vegetables and stuff, but it's still pretty hard for me. I'm starting today to track my calories so I can tell what I'm really eating. It'll take a lot of time and will be a big adjustment, but I've been praying a lot for inspiration and help and I think this will be super helpful.
Today I will probably work with weights and do ab/arm/leg/glute workouts. This is a gross question, but does anyone else have excess skin? It's not excessive, but...anyway. I've read that if you use exfoliating body wash and use MSM lotion and tablets, it helps. I'm doing that too.
TMI?
I bought more exercise pants last night and was able to buy 16/18 instead of 18/20. YIPPEE!!!
I've been really REALLY trying to eat healthier. I know I'm lucky because I like vegetables and stuff, but it's still pretty hard for me. I'm starting today to track my calories so I can tell what I'm really eating. It'll take a lot of time and will be a big adjustment, but I've been praying a lot for inspiration and help and I think this will be super helpful.
Today I will probably work with weights and do ab/arm/leg/glute workouts. This is a gross question, but does anyone else have excess skin? It's not excessive, but...anyway. I've read that if you use exfoliating body wash and use MSM lotion and tablets, it helps. I'm doing that too.
TMI?
Monday, April 16, 2012
Jeanette broke her vow.....shocker.
Don't worry about talking too much on here Karen. I think we all like hearing what you are doing because we are all so proud (and yes jealous) :) of you. You are doing great.
I went on a mile walk yesterday.......today I'll do something else. Yes, I will.
I went on a mile walk yesterday.......today I'll do something else. Yes, I will.
Sunday, April 15, 2012
My own personal fitness blog
It feels like I'm talking wayyyyy too much on this blog. What have you guys been up to fitness-wise?
I tried my hand at a few exercises on Saturday focusing on my legs, arms, and glutes. My legs are holding out pretty well, since they're pretty used to me using them (walking, running). My...ahem....glutes are feeling the burn a bit but not terribly. My arms and back are like, "Hey. What did we do to you?!"
I was able to wear a skirt today that I'd avoided wearing in the past because it showed off my tummy. And that's a showcase no one wants to see.
I tried my hand at a few exercises on Saturday focusing on my legs, arms, and glutes. My legs are holding out pretty well, since they're pretty used to me using them (walking, running). My...ahem....glutes are feeling the burn a bit but not terribly. My arms and back are like, "Hey. What did we do to you?!"
I was able to wear a skirt today that I'd avoided wearing in the past because it showed off my tummy. And that's a showcase no one wants to see.
Friday, April 13, 2012
Miles of Pies
Whew, I've put a lot of miles on these here feet this week. Wednesday we went 5.82 miles and yesterday I did 2 miles as well as some work with our 8 lb. medicine ball. My dogs have been barking. Howling. My poor tootsies.
I've been waiting (drooling, dreaming) for Breyers Blast Grasshopper ice cream since they stopped carrying it last year. It's a seasonal thing, so it's been on my mind. When we were in St. Louis, I saw it. I gasped. I drooled. But I didn't buy it since we weren't going to be able to store it in a freezer and (for some reason) it seemed wrong to scarf down the whole thing in one sitting. Anyway. Salem didn't have it. Columbia doesn't have it. I went to another store in search of it on Wednesday night and when they didn't have it, I grabbed a little box of 2 peices of Butterfinger pie for me and Mike. I thought, it's small so that's good. I got home and looked at the nutritional facts. 387 calories for one piece of pie!!!!!!!!! I was so bummed, but still determined to eat that delicious peice of fatty, sugary goodness. After all, I had walked almost 6 miles that day and had been pretty careful about what I ate all day (and week.) I offered one to Mike, who hesitated after looking to see how many calories it had. He said he didn't think he'd have one, but if I wanted maybe he'd split one with me or something. Then it hit me. 387 calories?! That's a lot. And if I want to lose weight, I have to make sacrifices. I can't expect to shed pounds by eating whatever I want, whenever I want. I am working too hard to exercise and watch what I eat to go crazy all the time. Sometimes is okay, and I totally am going to splurge sometimes, but right now I'm trying to train my body to be healthy. So I threw it away.
And then I sat down and sobbed.
I cried because I wanted to eat that pie so much. I cried because I wasn't going to. I cried because of all the wasted years. I cried because food has always been such a fun, comforting, easy thing. I cried because of how much I want to be fit. I cried because of all the people who called me fat. I cried because I was the worst of them all.
I have somehow convinced myself that that's what I am. I am Karen, and I am heavy. I don't like to run, I don't like to work out, I don't like to sweat. But guess what? That's not me. I am Karen. There's a healthy person in there who will be much happier when I can buy the size I want. When I can run with my kids. When I can feel comfortable in a group.
So I'm proud of myself. But a part of me still wants that pie. :)
I've been waiting (drooling, dreaming) for Breyers Blast Grasshopper ice cream since they stopped carrying it last year. It's a seasonal thing, so it's been on my mind. When we were in St. Louis, I saw it. I gasped. I drooled. But I didn't buy it since we weren't going to be able to store it in a freezer and (for some reason) it seemed wrong to scarf down the whole thing in one sitting. Anyway. Salem didn't have it. Columbia doesn't have it. I went to another store in search of it on Wednesday night and when they didn't have it, I grabbed a little box of 2 peices of Butterfinger pie for me and Mike. I thought, it's small so that's good. I got home and looked at the nutritional facts. 387 calories for one piece of pie!!!!!!!!! I was so bummed, but still determined to eat that delicious peice of fatty, sugary goodness. After all, I had walked almost 6 miles that day and had been pretty careful about what I ate all day (and week.) I offered one to Mike, who hesitated after looking to see how many calories it had. He said he didn't think he'd have one, but if I wanted maybe he'd split one with me or something. Then it hit me. 387 calories?! That's a lot. And if I want to lose weight, I have to make sacrifices. I can't expect to shed pounds by eating whatever I want, whenever I want. I am working too hard to exercise and watch what I eat to go crazy all the time. Sometimes is okay, and I totally am going to splurge sometimes, but right now I'm trying to train my body to be healthy. So I threw it away.
And then I sat down and sobbed.
I cried because I wanted to eat that pie so much. I cried because I wasn't going to. I cried because of all the wasted years. I cried because food has always been such a fun, comforting, easy thing. I cried because of how much I want to be fit. I cried because of all the people who called me fat. I cried because I was the worst of them all.
I have somehow convinced myself that that's what I am. I am Karen, and I am heavy. I don't like to run, I don't like to work out, I don't like to sweat. But guess what? That's not me. I am Karen. There's a healthy person in there who will be much happier when I can buy the size I want. When I can run with my kids. When I can feel comfortable in a group.
So I'm proud of myself. But a part of me still wants that pie. :)
Tuesday, April 10, 2012
The Weekend
We were out of town for the weekend, but I was proud of myself. We were in a hotel on Thursday night and Friday morning I got my bum out of the room and down to the fitness room and did a 1 1/2 mile brisk walk. Thursday we went to the zoo and saw on the pedometer that we went around 2.75 miles. So although we didn't quite eat healthfully, I did eat better than you'd think and did a lot more exercise than you'd think for a weekend away from home with amazing food all around me.
Yesterday Mike got home early so we loaded the kids up and did a 5 mile walk. I was pretty beat by the end of it, but just glad I could do it. I haven't lost the weight I want to yet, but I'm definitely getting stronger.
Yesterday Mike got home early so we loaded the kids up and did a 5 mile walk. I was pretty beat by the end of it, but just glad I could do it. I haven't lost the weight I want to yet, but I'm definitely getting stronger.
Tuesday, April 3, 2012
Here goes...
Okay, people, you have worn me down with all your exercise talk. No, wait... you wore me out with all your exercise talk... but I'm in regardless. I started tracking what I eat again today. That went well last time, so I'm crossing my fingers. There's a good calorie tracker at sparkpeople.com if any of you wanted to try that out.
I'm trying to figure out what kind of fitness stuff I want to do/ can do with twin toddlers in tow. I'm actually considering working toward running, but that's a tough one time-wise.
So we're supposed to share before pictures, eh? Alright, here's mine...
I'm trying to figure out what kind of fitness stuff I want to do/ can do with twin toddlers in tow. I'm actually considering working toward running, but that's a tough one time-wise.
So we're supposed to share before pictures, eh? Alright, here's mine...
Just kidding, of course. I never curl my hair and wear nail polish.
16 minutes jogging
Total of 16 minutes jogging, 20 minutes walking. Sweating. Like a pig. Sore. Soooooo sore. So proud of myself.
And I have to do it again tomorrow. Sobbing. :)
And I have to do it again tomorrow. Sobbing. :)
Monday, April 2, 2012
Me Lately
Hi everybody. Things are going pretty well, exercise-wise. On Friday, I did the 3 min jog thingie again and it was not as good as last time, but it was do-able. I had to hop off for a couple seconds a couple times, but I'm proud of what I can do. Today I'm supposed to do 5 minutes at a time, so I'm praying I can do better today.
Yesterday we went on two walks for a total of 2.8 miles. It was definitely nice to get out and move. I'm finding that the more I exercise, the more I need it, and enjoy it. I would never have thought before that I would WANT to get off my rear and move.
Yesterday we went on two walks for a total of 2.8 miles. It was definitely nice to get out and move. I'm finding that the more I exercise, the more I need it, and enjoy it. I would never have thought before that I would WANT to get off my rear and move.
Sunday, April 1, 2012
Jeanette makes the unbreakable (well maybe we wont go that far) vow.....
I won't lie. I have not been doing well with this exercise/eating healthier bit. BUT, for the hundreth time I now vow once again to start working out. I am hoping to look and feel a whole lot better by the holidays. Laura - good to see you on here. I hope the first week goes fast for you. I am impressed by your dedication with this diet. I know it's hard.....obviously because I don't do it. :) I didn't know you could sign in to a single blog with different accounts. Good thing Amy is with it. :)
Be an author
Amy set this up to invite us all to be authors. Don't want Jeanette to get the credit for all our hard work!!
Laura - First Blog Post Ever!
First day of April, first day of the week - I am now officially on my diet again. I SOOO want to cheat. I came over to Amy's house for conference. At lunch, Mike made big, thick chocolate chip waffles. I ate my breadless sandwich wraps. Did I mention that I soooooo want to cheat? But I know that cheating is just cheating myself. My goal is to be in a more comfortable place by my birthday. I have to renew my license on that day. I'd like to be happier with it than the one I got almost 8 years ago.
I also know that in a week or two I will no longer feel hungry all the time. Part of it is mental and part of it is just needing to purge my body of sugar....mmmmm, sugar!
No exercise today - it is Sunday- but that is soon to come. I will try to keep posting.
Amy is currently on her exercise bike. Her legs aren't moving but her hands are flying over her iphone.
I also know that in a week or two I will no longer feel hungry all the time. Part of it is mental and part of it is just needing to purge my body of sugar....mmmmm, sugar!
No exercise today - it is Sunday- but that is soon to come. I will try to keep posting.
Amy is currently on her exercise bike. Her legs aren't moving but her hands are flying over her iphone.
Monday, March 26, 2012
Karen - Jogging torture
Today my little online program informed me that I was supposed to jog for 3 minutes straight, twice.....as well as a bunch of brisk walking and a couple 90 second jogs. I seriously thought my legs must have been on fire, and that our treadmill was, in fact, an instrument of torture designed to kill me or stop my heart. But...yay for me, cause I did it!
The scale (the jerk) is still saying I've only lost 10 lbs. I can tell a difference in my ankles though. Not sure what that means, although maybe I just lost 10 lbs of ankle weight? :)
The scale (the jerk) is still saying I've only lost 10 lbs. I can tell a difference in my ankles though. Not sure what that means, although maybe I just lost 10 lbs of ankle weight? :)
Saturday, March 24, 2012
Karen - 3/24
Jogged 90 seconds, walked 2 min for 20 min, as well as a 5 min warm up and cool down. It's so hard to get my legs to not quit when they start burning. But I can say I did it. So....wooohhhoooooo.
Jeanette
I did the Flat Belly DVD again today. I was going to do Taebo but I can't find the tape. It has to be here somewhere. My coordination actually wasn't as bad today.
Thursday, March 22, 2012
Karen - Not so great
I did the routine again today, and it was really difficult. I made it through, but had to go a lot slower and take more breaks. I guess the important thing is that I did it though, right? :)
Flat Belly?
Well I just got finished doing the Flat Belly Workout DVD that Karen let me borrow. It doesn't work. My belly is NOT flat. :) I didn't do the part with the mat though. Let me just tell you....I am so glad I did it while Noah was in bed and Jason was gone at his basketball game because even though it looks SO easy...it's not as easy as it looks. I am still super sweaty and I'm about as uncordinated as an ape. Seriously. I was embarrased enough just doing it by myself. :) I'm sure the more I do it the more I'll get the hang of it. When I had to start using my arms to do things while walking sideways, etc I got all confused. It would have been entertaining to others I'm sure. :
beginning
cute boy though
Okay this has to stop. I have to start exercising so that I don't always wish I had made Jason help Noah open his presents. Wait for a post tonight telling you that I did some sort of exercise.
Wednesday, March 21, 2012
Bathed....
...in sweat. Gross.
Just did a routine of 90 seconds jogging, 2 min walking. I could do it, though! Which is a miracle! It was a 5 min warmup and 5 min cool down, so 20 min of the walk/jog. Now I'm going to take a shower.
Just did a routine of 90 seconds jogging, 2 min walking. I could do it, though! Which is a miracle! It was a 5 min warmup and 5 min cool down, so 20 min of the walk/jog. Now I'm going to take a shower.
Tuesday, March 20, 2012
Karen - 3/19
I am soooo sore today. Yesterday I did a program of walking for 90 seconds, jogging for 60 seconds - for half an hour. I was tired. Then I did some weights, and I was more tired. And earlier that day I had scrubbed half the kitchen floor and half the cabinets. Today, I'm lucky if I can drag my arms like an ape.
I'm glad I did it, though. That's the weird part about exercise.
I'm glad I did it, though. That's the weird part about exercise.
Saturday, March 17, 2012
Karen - Week 1
I've been working on it for awhile, and am having (very) slow results, weight-wise. It's crazy though how strong my legs have gotten. I can feel the muscles easily and it's awesome. I've been doing a walk/run/jog program for a little while now. I only run for 1-2 minutes at a time, but that is a huge improvement from the way I was before. Anyway, here's a picture of me (blech) and one of me right after excercising. Oooooh, I was looking good.
Wednesday, March 14, 2012
Jeanette - continued
Well we went on a walk today and I walked a little over a mile. It was hot. I also did some house cleaning (so much more to do) but I sweated a lot doing it so I think it counts as exercise. :)
Jeanette - day 1
So today it starts. Getting serious about losing this weight and hopefully by Christmas we will all look totally amazing. :) Today I did Taebo. Well most of taebo. I fast forwarded through the double time kicks (like always) and missed the cool down because of a certain baby who only slept a half hour. In any case I thought this blog would help motivate me to keep exercising by knowing people are checking in on me and also by seeing you all exercising too. (Can't be left out you know). I do get tired of Billy Blanks telling me to remember my stomach though. :) Hopefully with the weather being nice we will be able to go on a walk later.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
